Real Football

News, Reports and Articles

Verbeek names Socceroos squad for qualifier

Socceroos Coach Pim Verbeek has selected an extended 27-man squad for the upcoming international friendly game against the Netherlands and the World Cup Qualifier match against Uzbekistan in Tashkent on Wednesday, September 10.

Michael Beauchamp, Jacob Burns, Ante Covic, Brett Emerton, Brad Jones, Harry Kewell, Jade North and Shane Stefanutto come into the squad, with North and Covic being the only A-League players included.

Australia squad: Michael Beauchamp (Aalborg BK, Denmark), Mark Bresciano (U.S. Citta di Palermo, Italy), Jacob Burns (FC Unirea Valahorum, Romania), David Carney (Sheffield United FC, England), Scott Chipperfield (FC Basel, Switzerland), Chris Coyne (Colchester United FC, England), Ante Covic (Newcastle Jets, Australia), Jason Culina (PSV Eindhoven, Netherlands), Bruce Djite (Genclerbirligi SK, Turkey), Brett Emerton (Blackburn Rovers, England), Richard Garcia (Hull City FC, England), Vincenzo Grella (Blackburn Rovers, England), Brett Holman (AZ Alkmaar, Netherlands), Brad Jones (Middlesbrough FC, England), Josh Kennedy (Karlsruher SC, Germany), Harry Kewell (Galatasaray SK, Turkey), Scott McDonald (Celtic FC, Scotland), Mark Milligan (uncontracted), Lucas Neill (West Ham United FC, England), Jade North (Newcastle Jets, Australia), Michael Petkovic (Sivasspor, Turkey), Mark Schwarzer (Fulham FC, England), Matthew Spiranovic (FC Nurnberg, Germany), Shane Stefanutto (FC Lyn Oslo, Norway), Mile Sterjovski (Derby County FC, England), Carl Valeri (U.S. Grosseto FC, Italy) and Luke Wilkshire (Dynamo Moscow, Russia).

Written by
Real Football

Published on August 27, 2008

See What Others Say

Have Your Say:

Real Football